Logo: Clinical House Dental

Periointegration for safe implants

Prof. Dr. Marc L. Nevins

"The greatest challenge remains to guarantee the longterm lifetime of an implant. After the problem of osseointegration has been solved, now periointegration is at the focus of our efforts."
Prof. Dr. Marc L. Nevins

First breakthrough in dental implantology was in 1952, when the Swedish professor Mr Per-Ingvar Brånemark conducted the groundbreaking research on "osseointegration" of titanium in the human bone. In Germany, this method has been used for implants in the mouth, jaw and face area since 1969.

However, long-term durability of the dental implants still represents a problem in dental implantology: the rate of reported peri-implantar mucositis is above 50 %, and the rate of peri-implantitis is at 12 % to 40 % (Lindhe J, Meyle J, 2008). Correspondingly, it should be assumed that - within a time period of ten years - approximately one third of all implants will develop an inflammation of the surrounding tissue, possibly resulting in loss of the implant.

In 2006, the Academy of Periointegration (AP) was founded to counter this problem. This association of experts defined design-related and medical-technical improvements to ensure inflammation-free embedding of implants into the surrounding gingiva also on the long term. This new method of healthy and long-term tissue integration of dental implants has been denominated "periointegration" by the researchers.

Subsequently, a new type of dental implant - the "PerioType" implant - that provides the required "periointegrative" features was developed jointly with the Fraunhofer Institute.

Particular the use of a new type of high-tech zirconium nitride coating in the transgingival region shows a significantly improved biocompatibility and increased apposition of gingival fibroblasts as compared to pure titanium (Becker J, 2008). Thanks to the significantly increased surface hardness, even scalers and curettes do not impair the surface properties. Furthermore, recent scientific surveys show that zirconium nitride is less prone to apposition of plaque as compared to titanium. The composition of the bacteria is significantly less pathogenic (Grössner- Schreiber B, 2012).

When using the zirconium nitride surface, patented by Clinical House Europe, together with an extremly stable inner implant connection and an innovative sealing implant shoulder (SIS), which ensures a tightness of the implant comparable to a Swiss diver's watch, the implant systems made by Clinical House Europe combine both optimal osseointegration and perfect periointegration.

Periointegration + Osseointegration = 100% safe implants
facebook-Logo

Logo: Clinical House Dental

Periointegration für sichere Implantate

Prof. Dr. Marc L. Nevins

"Es bleibt die größte Herausforderung den dauerhaften Halt eines Implantates zu garantieren. Nachdem das Problem der Osseointegration gelöst ist, steht nun die Periointegration im Fokus der Bemühungen."
Prof. Dr. Marc L. Nevins

Der erste Durchbruch für die dentale Implantologie gelang im Jahr 1952 durch die wegweisende Forschung des schwedischen Professors Per-Ingvar Brånemark über die "Osseointegration" von Titan im menschlichen Knochen. In Deutschland werden nach diesem Prinzip ungefähr seit 1969 Implantate im Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtsbereich gesetzt.

Ein Problem der dentalen Implantologie bleibt jedoch die langfristige Überlebensrate der Zahnimplantate: Die Verbreitung der periimplantären Mukositis wird mit über 50 % und der Periimplantitis von 12 % bis 40 % angegeben (Lindhe J, Meyle J, 2008). Man muss also davon ausgehen, dass circa ein Drittel aller Implantate im Laufe von zehn Jahren eine Entzündung des umliegenden Gewebes entwickeln, die zum Implantatverlust führen kann.

Um dieser Gefahr zu begegnen, wurde im Jahr 2006 die Academy of Periointegration (AP) gegründet. Dieser Zusammenschluss von Experten definierte design- und medizintechnische Verbesserungen, um die entzündungsfreie Einbettung von Implantaten in das umgebende Zahnfleisch auch langfristig zu garantieren. Das neue Prinzip der gesunden und langfristigen Gewebeintegration von Zahnimplantaten bezeichneten die Forscher als "Periointegration".

Ein neuartiges Zahnimplantat, das die hierfür notwendigen "periointegrativen" Eigenschaften besitzt, wurde anschließend gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut entwickelt und als "PerioType" bezeichnet.

Besonders die Verwendung einer neuartigen High-Tech-Beschichtung aus Zirkonnitrid im transgingivalen Bereich zeigt im Vergleich mit Reintitan eine deutlich bessere Biokompatibilität und eine erhöhte Anlagerung von Gingivafibroblasten (Becker J, 2008). Aufgrund der deutlich höheren Oberflächenhärte verschlechtern auch Scaler und Küretten die Eigenschaften der Oberfläche nicht. Aktuelle wissenschaftliche Studien zeigen außerdem, dass sich an Zirkonnitrid weniger Plaque anlagert als an Titan. Die Zusammensetzung der Bakterien ist deutlich weniger pathogen (Grössner-Schreiber B, 2012).

Durch den Einsatz der von Clinical House Europe patentierten Zirkonnitrid-Oberfläche in Kombination mit einer extrem stabilen Implantat-Innenverbindung und einer innovativen, stegförmigen Implantatschulter (SIS), die dem Implantat die Dichtigkeit einer Schweizer Taucheruhr verleiht, vereinen die Implantat-Systeme von Clinical House Europe optimale Osseointegration und ideale Periointegration.

Periointegration + Osseointegration = 100% sichere Implantate
facebook-Logo